

BASIS OF ELECTION FOR 2025 LOCAL ELECTIONS

Basis of Election for 2025 Local Elections

On 5 November 2024, Kaipara District Council gave public notice of its final proposal for representation arrangements to apply for the Council for the elections to be held on 11 October 2025. Notification of the right to appeal was also given. No valid appeals were received in respect of the resolution, therefore the representation arrangements for Kaipara District Council's 2025 local elections will be the same as in the final proposal:

Council representation

The Kaipara District Council to comprise the mayor elected 'at large' and eight councillors elected from three wards, these being:

- a) Kaiwaka-Mangawhai Ward (represented by three councillors), comprising the southeast section of Kaipara, including Kaiwaka, Mangawhai township and Mangawhai Heads and surrounding area, Oruawharo, Oneriri Peninsula and Hakaru (being the current Kaiwaka-Mangawhai General Ward area)
- b) Otamatea Ward (represented by two councillors), comprising the State Highway 12 townships from Tokatoka to Maungatūroto, including Ruawai, Matakohe, Paparoa, Taipuha, Ararua, Pahi, Whakapirau and Tinopai (being the current Otamatea General Ward area with the inclusion of meshblocks 0122400, 0122800, 0122300 and 0122700 from the current Wairoa General Ward)
- c) Wairoa Ward (represented by three councillors), comprising the Dargaville township, plus the area surrounding Dargaville, through to Waipoua Forest, including Kaihu, Aranga, Donnellys Crossing, Mamaranui, Omamari, Baylys Beach, Hoanga, Tangowahine, Tangiteroria, Te Kôpuru, Pouto, Turiwiri and Arapohue (being the current Wairoa General Ward area, with the exclusion of meshblocks 0122400, 0122800, 0122300 and 0122700)
- d) No community boards be established.

Ward	Population*	Councillors	Ratio
Kaiwaka-Mangawhai	10,050	3	3,350
Otamatea	6,180	2	3,090
Wairoa	11,000	3	3,667
Total	27,230	8	3,404

The three wards, the population per ward, the number of councillors per ward and the population per councillor is as follows:

*population estimates as of 30 June 2023

In accordance with section 19V(2) of the Local Electoral Act 2001, the population that each councillor represents must be within the range of 3,404 plus or minus 10% (3,064-3,744). All of the proposed wards comply with this range.

Any queries regarding the Council's decision should be directed to: Kelly Ockwell, Kaipara District Council, Private Bag 1001, Dargaville 0340 or council@kaipara.govt.nz

Jason Marris, Chief Executive Kaipara District Council Phone: 0800 727 059 or 09 439 7059